Overall, the disallowed penalty kick by Julian Alvarez in the Champions League shootout between Atletico Madrid and Real Madrid was a controversial decision. The rule that a penalty kick is completed when the ball stops moving, goes out of play, or the referee stops play for any offense was cited as the reason for the disallowance. However, there was debate over whether Alvarez actually touched the ball with both feet as he fell, with some questioning the validity of the decision. Atletico Madrid manager Diego Simeone refrained from criticizing the officials directly but raised doubts about the conclusive evidence of the double touch. Ultimately, the decision played a significant role in Real Madrid progressing to the next round of the competition.
